Peace Corps Writers
More information
about our awards.

     PC Experience

Award for Outstanding Poetry Book

IN 1997, THE FIRST ANNUAL AWARD for an outstanding poetry book by a Peace Corps writer was presented. The winners are:


2005 Award Winner
The Way They Say Yes Here
by Jacqueline Lyons
     (Lesotho 1992–95)
(Buy this book)

2004 Award Winner
Gilbert & Garbo In Love:
A Romance in Poems

by Christopher Conlon
     (Botswana 1988–90)
buy from The Word Works

2003 Award Winner
Nomadic Foundations
by Sandra Meek
     (Botswana 1989–91)
(Buy this book)

2002 Award Winner
I Want This World
by Margaret Szumowski
     (Zaire 1973–74, Ethiopia 1974–75)
(Buy this book)

 The Cartographer's Tongue
2001 Award Winner
The Cartographer’s Tongue:
Poems of the World

by Susan Rich
     (Niger 1984–86)
(Buy this book)


2000 Award Winner
The Deathbed Playboy
by Philip Dacey
     (Nigeria 1964–66)
(Buy this book)
    None given
Moments Between Cities
by John Flynn
     (Moldova 1993–95)
(Buy this book)

1997 Award Winner
Easter Vigil: Poems
by Ann Neelon
     ( Senegal 1978–79)
(Buy this book)
Home | Back Issues | Resources | Archives | Site Index | Search | About us | To contact us

Bibliography of Peace Corps Writers | PC writers by country of service

E-mail the with comments
or to be added to the new-issue notice list.
Copyright © 2008, (formerly RPCV Writers & Readers)
All rights reserved.